Anxiety is a reality for many people. Along with other illnesses like epilepsy and other seizure disorders, Ativan is frequently prescribed to treat anxiety. It is a member of the benzodiazepine drug class, which is regarded as a prohibited substance by both federal and California law. For Ativan and comparable medications, a prescription is necessary.
It is acceptable to take Ativan if you have a prescription. As long as you can operate a vehicle under similar circumstances like a sober individual, it is legal to drive after taking Ativan. However, you may be charged with driving under the influence of drugs if you are unable to operate a vehicle as safely as you would under normal conditions because you took Ativan. A DUID, or DUI with drugs, is the more popular term for this. Keep reading to learn more and then contact Chambers Law Firm at 714-760-4088 for a free legal consultation.
It does not matter if you have a prescription for Ativan
It’s important to note that driving while intoxicated by Ativan is illegal regardless of whether you have a prescription for it. Driving while under the influence of any substance, whether legal or illicit, prescribed or over the counter, is prohibited if it prevents you from operating a vehicle safely under identical conditions.
The same way there is for driving while intoxicated by alcohol, there is no legal limit for narcotics. However, driving while under the influence of drugs, while under the influence of drugs and alcohol, or while addicted to any drug is prohibited in California, unless you are currently receiving treatment for the addiction in a program that has been approved.
DUID is a wobbler offense
A DUID is a wobbler offense, which means that depending on the specifics of the case and your criminal record, it may be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. A DUID can result in jail time, probation, a fine, community service, drug education seminars that must be taken, and a driver’s license suspension if it is charged as a misdemeanor. It is punishable by up to three years in prison and/or a hefty punishment of up to $1,000 (or $5,000 if someone was harmed) if it is charged as a felony violation.
You do have options if you are charged with DUID
A skilled DUI defense attorney may be able to fight DUID accusations, even those containing Ativan. For instance, your lawyer might be able to argue that even if you had taken Ativan, you weren’t “under the influence” in the sense that you couldn’t drive as safely as you would have been able to if you hadn’t. Alternately, your attorney can contend that since there was no need for the police to stop you in the first place, any evidence linking you to drunk driving must be withheld.
Chambers Law Firm can assist if you have been charged with DUID or any other crime. Call us at 714-760-4088 or email firstname.lastname@example.org right now to arrange a free initial consultation with a skilled DUI defense attorney.