Have you driven while having a blood alcohol content of at least .08%? Or have you been driving after abusing drugs or alcohol? Alternatively, have you ever been stopped for a DUI, given a field sobriety test, and failed it while barely having any alcohol in your system? Were you surprised to learn that you failed a breathalyzer test after just one or two beers? In both California and the rest of the country, these events frequently occur.
Having your driver’s license suspended can be so annoying, regardless of your fault. The majority of Californians rely largely on personal vehicles to complete daily duties. If you’re not allowed to drive, it may be tough to even go to the grocery store. If you can’t transport your children to sports practices, school, family visits, and other activities, you suddenly won’t be able to properly care for them. In California, it can be nearly impossible to maintain even a basic level of independence if you can’t drive.
Make Attorney Chambers your ally
Contacting Dan Chambers of the Chambers Law Firm, a DUI attorney, should be your first priority after your arrest. He will provide you advice right away on how to obtain your license back and have the best possible outcome for your situation.
Act right away to regain your license
Since you only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request a DMV administrative hearing to contest the suspension of your driver’s license, time is really of the matter in DUI situations. Your attorney can show the DMV during this hearing that you were wrongfully detained, that your blood alcohol level was below the legal limit, or that the arresting officer didn’t have a good reason to assume you were driving under the influence.
To successfully contest the suspension of the driver’s license, Attorney Chambers must establish one or more of these three points.
Following the DMV hearing
Your California driver’s license will be immediately suspended if you choose not to request a DMV hearing or if the deadline passes without you having done so. Depending on how many DUI offenses you have in your past, this suspension might endure for a variety of periods of time. If this is your first infraction, it will be revoked for four months.
You can apply for a restricted license after 30 days, but it will only allow you to get to and from work and to DUI education sessions. Your license will be suspended for a lot longer if you have more than one DUI conviction on your record.
California judicial cases
You will then have to deal with California court proceedings after the DMV administrative hearing. Your license will be restored if the allegations against you are dropped. Your driving privileges will probably be revoked in the event that the charges are dropped or you are found guilty; the length of the suspension will depend on the specifics of your case. Naturally, the length of a driver’s license suspension is shorter for a misdemeanor DUI charge than for a felony one. Your driver’s license can possibly be permanently suspended depending on how your case turns out.
Receive a new driver’s license in California
It is therefore imperative that you hire the top DUI attorney in California to handle your case. Dan Chambers has decades of experience and the expertise to assist you with exceptional service in your California DUI case. He has achieved excellent results in DUI cases.
Call 714-760-4088, send an email to email@example.com, or use the chat box at the bottom of this page to send an online message to schedule a free first consultation about your DUI case in California with Attorney Chambers right away.