If you are convicted of a sex offense in California, you will almost certainly serve time in jail and face a hefty fine. However, for the great majority of people, the necessity to register as a sex offender is one of the most damaging effects of a sexual crime conviction. If you have been charged with a sex offense, it is critical to talk with an experienced criminal attorney as soon as possible. You can do so by calling Chambers Law Firm at 714-760-4088.
Registering withing five days
You must register as a sex offender if you are convicted of certain sex offenses in California. You must register with your local law enforcement agency within 5 working days after receiving your sentence, being released from detention, or being discharged from a hospital or mental institution. Your information will be sent to the California Department of Justice from there (DOJ). The Department of Justice’s Sex Offender Tracking Program keeps track of California’s registered sex offenders.
The Megan’s Law website
The Megan’s Law website of the California Department of Justice has information about registered sex offenders. Your precise conviction will determine whether or not your information is posted on the Megan’s Law website.
Your name, a photo, identifying information, and the offenses for which you were convicted, such as rape, will all be visible if your information is posted on the site. Your address may potentially display online depending on the offense you were convicted of and your criminal history.
The three categories of sex offenders in California
The California sex offender registration is divided into three categories. Most sex offenses are no longer subject to a lifelong register under SB 384, a new law.
- Tier one registration is required for at least ten years. People guilty of lower-level sex offenses, such as sex by deception and indecent exposure, are placed in this tier.
- Tier two necessitates a minimum of 20 years of registration. This tier is for people who have been convicted of a mid-level crime with a juvenile under the age of 14, such as incest or non-forcible sodomy.
- Tier three compels you to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life. It is reserved for those guilty of the most serious sex crimes, including as most rapes, child sex trafficking, sex offenses against children under the age of ten, and repeated sexual offenses.
A person on Tier one or Tier two must petition the court at the conclusion of their 10- or 20-year tenure to be removed from the sex offender register. Because a district attorney might request a hearing to contest this petition, it’s a good idea to get the advice of an experienced criminal lawyer.
Significantly, if a court feels you behaved for the purpose of sexual enjoyment or out of sexual compulsion, he or she might order you to register as a sex offender for any violation. Furthermore, if you are on the Tier one or Tier two registry and are jailed, your registration time is tolled (or halted) while you are in jail. Contact Chambers Law Firm at 714-760-4088 to request a free legal consultation.