Learn What You Can Expect if You Are Sentenced to DUI School in California

Learn What You Can Expect if You Are Sentenced to DUI School in California If you’re like most people, education is a thing of the past. However, if you are found guilty of a DUI, things might swiftly change. That’s because DUI convictions in California carry very severe consequences, including fines, license suspension, probation, potential jail time, and DUI school requirements.

Read on if you would like to learn more about these schools. Remember that you can contact Chambers Law Firm at 714-760-4088 for a free legal consultation at your convenience.

There are several DUI school programs

California offers four separate DUI school programs tailored to various offender categories. The first is for those who have been found guilty of wet reckless charges, which are basically reckless driving offenses with alcohol. This charge usually results from a plea agreement where a DUI attorney is able to reduce a DUI conviction to a “wet reckless.” There are several benefits to doing this, one of which is that you will spend far less time—just 12 hours—in DUI school.

You will be compelled to participate in the first offender program if your DUI charge cannot be reduced to a wet reckless and you are found guilty as a first offender. The number of hours you spend in DUI school will depend on your blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of your arrest; the higher your BAC, the longer the program will be. Programs for first-time offenders might last 30, 44, or 60 hours.

You will be compelled to attend DUI school for a much longer period of time if this is your second or subsequent DUI arrest. The duration of this curriculum is 18 months. 52 hours of group therapy, 12 hours of drug and alcohol instruction, fortnightly one-on-one interviews, and 6 hours of community reintegration monitoring are all part of the program. For this program, extra hours can be needed in each county.

A court will probably order you to complete the multiple offender program if you have committed a third DUI offense or more. There are 12 hours of alcohol and drug instruction, 78 hours of group counseling, individual interviews, and up to 300 hours of community service in this 30-month program. Similar to the 18-month program, the 30 month multiple offender program could need more hours to finish.

DUI school is required

The necessary DUI school requirement must be followed in order to successfully finish your DUI probation and have your driver’s license back. The programs are made to assist individuals in thinking about their connection with alcohol or other substances and in making better decisions for their life. You will be forced to actively engage in this program even if you think you don’t have a drug or alcohol problem and that your DUI conviction was an isolated incident.

Any person sentenced to these programs will have to pay for them in addition to physically attending DUI school. The price ranges from $270 for a 12-hour wet reckless training to $3,000 for a 30-month program. For individuals who cannot afford these expenditures, sliding scale rates and fee exemptions are offered.

Contact an attorney to learn what your options are

One of the many possible outcomes of a conviction for a DUI offense is being ordered to attend DUI programs. One approach to possibly prevent these consequences is to work with a knowledgeable DUI attorney to put up the strongest possible defense against the accusations. If you have been accused of DUI, get in touch with Chambers Law Firm right away at 714-760-4088 or dchambers@clfca.com to arrange a free first consultation and find out how we can assist you.

Call Us Today