Teenagers don’t always make the best decisions, as we all know. Many teenagers take risks that adults wouldn’t because of their age, maturity, and brain development. This includes risky behavior when it comes to driving and abusing drugs or alcohol.
Teenagers are more likely to speed, text while driving (or even use Snapchat while driving), drive drunk, and engage in other risky driving behaviors. Even if there are fewer kids who drive after drinking, the issue is still quite serious. According to research by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, teenagers in the US drive while intoxicated about 2.4 million times per month.
As a result, states and municipalities have taken action to try and help prevent drunk driving in teens. Keep reading to learn about one of those methods. If you have been charged with underage DUI, contact Chambers Law Firm at 714-760-4088 now to request a free legal consultation.
The purpose of zero tolerance laws
Zero tolerance rules are one method that states try to address the issue of young drunk drivers. These laws are precisely what they say they are: severe penalties for teenage drivers who consume alcohol while operating a vehicle.
Under California’s zero tolerance policy, it is against the law for anybody under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .01% or more. This limit is purposefully set incredibly low, which means that if a teen drives, they cannot even consume one drink without breaking the law.
Potential consequences for breaking zero tolerance laws
If you are under 21 years old, drinking and driving has very serious repercussions. A driver under the age of 21 who is caught with a BAC of.01 percent or more may have their license suspended for a year. Underage drinking and driving may result in extra criminal charges or other consequences, depending on the specifics of the case.
In accordance with California’s “zero tolerance” statute, minor drivers likewise have less rights. If a person under the age of 21 is pulled over on suspicion of DUI, he or she cannot decline to take a roadside breathalyzer test.
As long as they are not on DUI probation, everyone over the age of 21 has the ultimate freedom to decline to take a pre-arrest alcohol screening. However, California law requires you to take the roadside breathalyzer if you are under the age of 21. Even if you haven’t had a drop of alcohol, if you reject, your license will immediately be suspended for a year.
The goal of California’s zero tolerance policy is to lower the danger of young drivers who are intoxicated. Although it has been successful, Californians under the age of 21 who are unaware of these regulations could face severe repercussions. A skilled DUI attorney will be necessary if you or someone you care about has been detained for violating California’s zero tolerance regulations or for a DUI. Chambers Law Firm in can zealously defend you against any DUI or associated accusations. To arrange a free initial consultation, contact us at 714-760-4088 or email@example.com.